Mist AGA "english" menu

For english speaking UnAmiga users. Questions and answers in english (or spanglish :D , depending on the profiency of your forum partner)

Moderador: jepalza

Responder
Solo761
Veroboard
Mensajes: 2
Registrado: 08 Oct 2018, 20:34
Ubicación: Croatia

Mist AGA "english" menu

Mensaje por Solo761 » 23 Oct 2018, 22:27

Hello all,

I've recently managed to get my UnAmiga working. At first I couldn't get it to display anything except red screen which means kickstart problem. To make long story short SD card socket wasn't soldered correctly, there were shorts on 6 pins so FPGA couldn't access SD card and load kickstart, or de1_boot.bin file. If anyone stumbles on this issue check SD card pins with multimeter to be sure some of them aren't shorted.

Now, I've noticed that there isn't any English version of de1_boot.bin file so I've made one. It's nothing complicated, I simply "overwrote" strings with hexadecimal editor. That's why it's not perfect :).

I mostly managed to squeeze English translations over original Spanish text. Main issue was with "yes/no" choice. In Spanish it's "si/no" and there's no way to squeeze three characters in space for two characters :D. That's why I made two variants of the menu.

In first variant I sorta managed to squeeze "yes" into "si", but not without issues :). It works fine everywhere except "Restart" menu, when you enter it you for some reason "no" line is blank, only "yes" is displayed. But "no" line can be selected, it just doesn't show "no" text.
In second variant I changed it to "ys/no" instead of "yes/no" and "Restart" menu shows both lines.
So, if you're annoyed by missing text in one menu use second variant, if not use first :).



TLDR

Menu variant 1 - it has "yes/no" selection, but "Restart" menu is missing text in "no" option, although it still works as no, only text is missing
Menu variant 2 - it has "ys/no" selection, but "Restart" menu is showing both text lines




Next on to do list is 3D printed case for UnAmiga. I've mostly finished with the modeling, just to sort few details and I'll upload STL files so anyone with 3D Printer will be able to print it.
Adjuntos
MistAGA_English_menu_var1.rar
(37.06 KiB) Descargado 12 veces
MistAGA_English_menu_var2.rar
(37.06 KiB) Descargado 14 veces

Avatar de Usuario
jepalza
ULA
Mensajes: 142
Registrado: 14 Ago 2018, 18:51

Re: Mist AGA "english" menu

Mensaje por jepalza » 24 Oct 2018, 05:41

Gracias por la ayuda. Lo siento si solo está en español, pero al principio, no se pensaba que unamiga saliera de España, por eso se hizo solo en Español. La mayoría de la gente que lo ha comprado, es hispana (90%), por eso se hizo así.

Solo761
Veroboard
Mensajes: 2
Registrado: 08 Oct 2018, 20:34
Ubicación: Croatia

Re: Mist AGA "english" menu

Mensaje por Solo761 » 24 Oct 2018, 14:53

No problem :).

I know you don't need it, and it's not that hard to figure out what means what, but I've seen (on zxuno forum I think) someone ask for English version so I gave it a try and it worked.

carmeloco
PLA
Mensajes: 49
Registrado: 20 Ago 2018, 15:32

Re: Mist AGA "english" menu

Mensaje por carmeloco » 24 Oct 2018, 17:55

Es que esta es la gracia de los proyectos abiertos, que la gente puede adaptarlos a sus necesidades, como por ejemplo, el idioma ;)

Avatar de Usuario
desUBIKado
GAL
Mensajes: 82
Registrado: 14 Ago 2018, 19:06

Re: Mist AGA "english" menu

Mensaje por desUBIKado » 24 Oct 2018, 21:52

Con lo fácil que es "localizarlo": "si/no" --> "if/no"
===============================
- Buenas, ¿es aquí la escuela de idiomas?
- if if, between between

Responder

Volver a “In English”